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Introducing Our FREE Highlights Issuel

For those of you not familiar with our newsletter, we have put together this
Highlights issue showcasing a few of our favorite articles. We’ve attempted to
provide a witty and informative new way of looking at bridge, with lots of hu-
morous stories. Our approach to bridge writing is to use a sound bite method,
where we take one small statement as the core of the article. Bridge is easily di-
gestible if taken one small bite at a time. In each issue of the newsletter, you will
find articles on many aspects of bridge, including —

If you enjoy these arti-
cles, consider subscribing.
Why not send your favorite
partner a subscription as
well? It’s a gift they’ll enjoy
throughout the year. Each
subscription is six issues.

Index of back issues e Bidding e Etiquette
ava”abl-e o-n page 7. e Play ¢ Book & Software Reviews
Subscription forms
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Consider these auctions —

sidding— IS Your Bid Forcing?

Me LHO John RHO Me LHO John RHO
Playing at the club recently, my student John and I had the le Pass 1v  Pass l& Pass 1lv  Pass
fol]owing auction: 1a Pass 2¢ Pass INT Pass 2¢ Pass
Me LHO  John RHO ” ”

i:IT gass ;' gass Can I pass? No, I have to When my rebid is INT, is his

p Pass M ass J bid again! John has rebid 2 bid forcing? No, it is not

ass ass /:\ a new suit and neither of forcing. If he has enough val-

John got a shocked look on his face when I passed his jump us has limited our hands ues to push to game, he has to

to 3. “But ... I jumped!” he lamented. by bidding notrump. jump right to game or jump

into a new suit.

“Old suits are not forcing and since you had already men-
tioned hearts, your jump was in an old suit. Also, since I limited

my hand by rebidding INT, only a jump in a new suit would
have been forcing at that point.”

“But ... I jumped!” he repeated, shaking his head.

Doesn’t matter, folks. When you repeat a suit already men-
tioned before in the auction, it is not forcing. Look at this one:

Me LHO John RHO
1 Pass lv Pass
3% Pass 7?7

Can John pass my 3& bid? Yes, because it is an old suit.
Clubs have been mentioned twice.

A new suit by an unpassed responder is
forcing unless the opener or responder
has limited his hand by bidding 1NT.

Trouble learning bridge?
Try to relax and remember—

Be glad when you make
a mistake — that’s the
best way to learn!

Copyright © 2011, Bridge Students ‘R Us — All rights reserved. Reproduction allowed only with express permission of author.



Complimentary Issue

Page 2

—Nany /

Psychology — TOp S Dragon Myths I've Slain This Month

that tried to sneak their way into a few of my
classes. I was beset by a bevy of abused
bridge bromides. (Try saying that three times fast.) Here they
are —

\ Recently, I noticed a lot of bridge “myths”

1. When leading partner's bid suit, I always lead the top!

No, no, no. If you do lead the top, it must be from a
doubleton holding or touching honors (e.g., Q-J-x). If you
have an honor with two or three baby cards (e.g., K-10-6-3
or K-7-2) you will lead fourth or third best, respectively —
LOW FROM AN HONOR!! (But don’t underlead an ace
against a suit contract!) Consider this layout —

Dummy
S84
You Partner
% K62 % AJI1073
Declarer
Q95

If you lead the king, and then over to pard’s ace, you have
now set up a trick (the queen) for the declarer! Is that your
job — to set up tricks for the other side? If so,
how much are they paying you? What happens
if you start by leading the deuce over to pard's
ace? He will then return the jack which will
trap declarer’s queen under your king! Now
declarer gets NO tricks in this suit. That’s the
key — trying not to give the opponents any-
thing for free. You are the only one who can
capture the queen. Your partner cannot capture a card that is
played AFTER him. Always guard the person on your right
because they play before you do.

2. It’s bad to lead away from a king!

I could make up a hand where any lead would be bad!
True, you could be leading into the declarer's (hypothetical)
A-Q, giving him a free finesse. But if partner has the ace or
queen, your king will quickly set up for defensive purposes. I
would prefer that we say, “It’s bad to lead away from a king
when it’s wrong.” But leading away from a king is better than
leading from a queen, and leading from a queen is better than
leading from a jack (do you know how long it takes to set up
a jack?) and so on. The better your honor is — the faster it
will set up.

3. After your RHO opens, you must make a takeout double
any time you have an opening hand.

‘Fraid not. The two bids you can make after your oppo-
nent opens are either A) an overcall; or B) a takeout double.

A) An overcall ranges from 7-17 points and shows at least
a good five-card suit. (You can also overcall INT with a
notrump opener and a stopper in the enemy suit.)

B) A takeout double ranges from an open-
ing hand on up. You also need shortness in
the enemy suit AND support for the three
unbid suits. If you fail any of these three re-
quirements, then you probably shouldn’t @
make a takeout double.

If you can’t do A or B; then (click your heels together and
repeat three times) — pass. Pass is not a four-letter word.

4. When pard opens, I as responder must jump on my first
bid if I have an opening hand also!

Arrrgh. Let me tell you a story that I stole from Edith
McMullin. Two bulls were grazing down in the pasture. The
younger bull says, “WOW, look at all those beautiful cows
up on the hill! Let’s run up there and make love to one of
them.” The wiser, older bull said, “Why don’t we WALK up
the hill and make love to them ALL?” Save your strength
showing jump-bids for later, folks.

If you jump on your first bid it should show about 19+
points and a desire to play in a slam. Generally speaking,
your first bid explores for a fit at a low level, and you can
jump later to show your points. Consider these auctions:

A. Pard You
1% 19 (forcing)
14 24 (forcing) . . .

Your 19 response is 100% forcing. A new suit by an UN-
PASSED responder is forcing (unless opener has rebid 1NT).
So we can walk up this hill and make love to as many suits as
we want. Explore all of our options. No need to jump just
because you have an opening hand, too.

B. Pard You
1o 2NT ...

In basic standard, responder’s immediate jump to 2NT shows
an opening hand; BUT it also shows stoppers in the unbid
suits and denies a four-card major. If responder bypasses a
major at the one level to bid notrump, he doesn’t have one.

C. Pard You
1 1v
INT 3NT

Pard doesn't like your hearts and he denies
spades when he doesn't bid them. Notrump
is probably where we are going to wind up so NOW we jump
to 3NT on our second bid to show we had an opening hand
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MythS — Continued

later. DO NOT jump on your first bid.

5. ALWAYS lead “fourth from your longest and strongest”
against notrump.

No, this is a guideline, not a rule. Only one rule in bridge

and that is . . . “Always accept a breath mint from your part-
ner.” Everything else is just a suggestion. Your opening lead
should depend upon your defensive plan. You do have a de-
fensive plan, don’t you?

All opening leads are blind but none of them are deaf.

(Can’t remember who gets credit for that nugget.) Listen and
review the auction before making the opening lead.

Did your partner bid? Leading his suit will at least let
you win the postmortem!

Did the opponents bid a suit? It is gener-
ally not a good thing to lead a suit bid by
the bad guys. Exception: If you have
K-Q-J-10-9 of their bid suit, you proba-
bly should lead it since you OWN it, and
they don’t.

Estimate partner’s point count using the auction as a
guide. For instance, the opponents are in 3NT so you
assume they have about 26 points. You have 13 points,
how many points can your partner have? Add them up!
You can account for approximately 39 points — pard is
broke. Underleading any of your honors (fourth best)
will only benefit the opponents. Find a safe passive lead
instead.

If you do decide to lead your longest and strongest suit,
remember that sequence leads always take precedence
over fourth-best leads — with K-Q-J-8-3, lead the king,
not the eight. (From K-Q-J-10-3 one of my students led
the 10, thinking “What does it matter?”” But that would
mislead your partner.) Always lead the TOP of a se-
quence or broken sequence (K-Q-10-6-3 — again, lead
the king). Leading top of a sequence is aggressive and
even safer than fourth-best leads.

Any of the above lead suggestions can be used on any

hand depending upon your defensive plan. When do you lead
fourth best? When it feels right and nothing else better oc-
curs to you!

=

Don’t use well-known

platitudes as a substitute =)

for actually thinking!
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Defense — A Very Grimm Fairy Tale

Once upon a time, I was at the club playing
against Mrs. Fisher and her regular partner of .
late, Mrs. Price. These ladies are so genteel that
it would make you smile. Mrs. Fisher is always
very courteous and charming. In fact, she brings to my mind
Snow White singing in the meadow surrounded by flying birds
and furry animals. And if you looked up the word “nice” in the

dictionary, you would find a picture of her partner, Mrs. Price.
They are a perfectly matched pair.

On the third hand of the round, I was declarer in a simple-
looking 3NT contract. I had eight top tricks and if the clubs split
3-3, the fourth club in my hand would be the ninth trick. The
layout was:

I won the %K and noticed that my LHO (Snow
White) played the #10. Hmmmm... Then on my
%Q she played the %J. Boy, was I glad I was see-
ing spots for once in my life! RHO had followed

Me with two insignificant looking clubs. Ahaaaa! The
* A 853/ lubs were splitting 4-2 with %9-7-6-2 on my right!
I promptly finessed my %8 on the third trick and ...
AAARRRGGGHHH! Snow White won her #9. She had delib-
erately falsecarded! I looked at her in amazement.

Dummy
S KQ4

“Nice play,” I murmured to her. “Sorry, partner.”

Partner patted me on the back, “I would’ve
played it the same way.”

Snow White started cackling like her evil step-
mother. “I love this game!” Was that a wart on her
nose?

At dinner that evening, my husband asked about the game. “I
got run over today by a tractor-trailer and Snow White was driv-
ing. ’'m going to run an ad ... warn the other players,” I mum-
bled. “The Fisher-Price pair unmasked! Who taught her to do
that?”

My husband laughed. “Don’t you know you can’t trust fic-
tional characters’ carding at the bridge table? Besides, I’ve seen

you falsecard before.”
“Yeah, I know, but I don’t have bluebirds flying

*
& around my head.”

The moral of this story is that when you have the opportunity
to fool your opponents, then do it! With a J-10-9 combination
most people would routinely follow with the nine, then the 10
and jack. Next time you’re following suit with equal honors,
consider playing them out of normal order. Deliberately playing
your cards in an odd manner on defense can have a devastating
effect on the declarer (if she’s watching your carding)! But re-
member you’ll be fooling your partner also — so do it with
care!
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Bidding— Stretching to Bid that Slam!!

Dealer: South North
N-S Vul
Lead: ¢6 A ATI0
vA3
¢Al1032
*J762
West East
AaQ9 AT7642
vKJ752 v10986
¢J9765 ¢ 8
& K 10953
South
aK853
v Q4 REACHED
¢+ KQ4 YOUR
&« AQ84 [T
Bidding:
West North East South i
INT (15-17) i

2v (1) 6NT (2)  All Pass

(1) West interfered with the opponents’ notrump auction by
making a Cappelletti 2% bid. (This convention, named
after local expert Mike Cappelletti, Sr., is called the Ham-
ilton convention on the West Coast — and here on the
East Coast Mr. Cappelletti himself also calls it Hamilton
when it doesn’t work out well!) This alertable bid prom-
ised at least five hearts and an undisclosed five-card mi-
nor as well.

(2) North got the impression that the opponents were trying to
steal something away from his side and jumped to an un-
realistic slam.

The slam contract was very pushy.
#& When South showed his 15-17 notrump

. opener, why would North feel a slam was
possible if he could only contribute 14 HCP? That makes
a combined range of only 29-31. The small slam range is
from 33-36 points, especially when both hands are bal-
anced. 6NT went down one, declarer taking 11 tricks
with 30 HCP between North and South.

So what do you need to make a slam? Either —

e 33-36 points for a small slam or 37+ for a grand
slam when balanced; or

e A source of tricks!

A few hands later, a similar situation came up.
Again, another pushy slam.

Dealer: South North
E-W Vul
Lead: v10 4383
vl]7
¢ AKQ632
%J93
West East
aK654 AaQ972
v 109853 vQ62
97 *J8
%76 «Q842
South
aAJ10
v AK4
¢ 1054
& AKI105
Bidding:
West  North  East  South
1
Pass le Pass  2NT (1)

Pass 6NT (2)

(1) South jumped to 2NT, which here showed an 18-19
HCP hand (too strong to open a 15-17 INT).

(2) North thought his diamonds would run in notrump and
with six tricks in his own hand, decided to push to
6NT.

The big difference between these two pushy slams
is that North here had a source of tricks, his long dia-
mond suit which he hoped would run. In the first
hand, North’s points were scattered with no long suit.
With a source of tricks you can be a tad more aggres-
sive. The second declarer took 13 tricks when the
club finesse worked. Making seven on only 30
HCP!!!

If you are going to bid
(and make) a pushy slam,
you need a source of tricks!

.
74| M
G
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pefense — YWhen Should You Play Your Aces and Kings?

Aces and kings were sent to you by the bridge gods
to capture queens and jacks. In the sea, a big fish wants
to swallow the biggest fish he can find. Same thing
should be true at the bridge table. Against 3NT, partner
leads the #J. Here’s what you see:

Dummy Questions:
AK63 1. Where’s the 4Q?
Pard You 2. Who are you supposed
aJ AAT2 to be guarding?
3. Should you play “third
Answers: hand high™?

1. Partner has denied the 4Q when he led the #J. So
the declarer MUST have it!

2. You are supposed to be guarding the player on your
right, the one who plays BEFORE you do. That
means here you are guarding the dummy. Partner is
supposed to be guarding the declarer. Seeing the
#K in the dummy you should be saying to yourself,
“I'm NOT going to play my ace until that king is
played!” You are guarding that king. You are the
only one who CAN!

3. If dummy plays low, you’ll play the &7. You
should not play third hand high if there is some-
thing in dummy you should be guarding instead.
With nothing in the dummy (three babies) you
would rise with the ace and return the suit, because
partner might have led from K-J-10-9-(4).

Now, it is true that if you play low, the declarer will
score his #Q. But if you jump up with your ace, you
will make BOTH his king and the queen good.

It is NOT your job to set up
tricks for the opponents!

Try not to jump up with your aces and kings, captur-
ing nothing in return. The more honors you capture, the
bigger your partner’s 10’s and 9’s will become. More
tricks for your side! Let’s try it from another angle:

Dummy
AK63 Questions:
You Pard Where’s the #Q?
4ATS LR Who are you supposed
Declarer to be guarding?
leads the &2 What card should you
play?

Answers:

1. You can’t be sure where the missing #Q is. Either
declarer or your partner might have it.

2. You should be guarding the player on your right;
on this hand, that’s the declarer!

3. If you jump up with your ace, all you will get is the
2, 3 and 4. Not a very good result for a big and
powerful ace! So play low and wait for something
better to come along that you can capture!

The full layout was:
Dummy If You Jump Up
A K63 With Your Ace:
You Pard
AATS aJ1094 . Now the declarer’s
king AND queen are
Declarer good and he’ll get two
aQ82 tricks from the suit.

Yes, by playing low there will be some slight pain
when the declarer wins his #K, but he was always go-
ing to get a trick with it anyway. However, when your
partner later gets the lead, he can switch to the &J, trap-
ping the declarer’s #Q. So declarer gets only his ONE
spade trick.

I think T
just got a
promotion!

Many of you are still leading unsupported aces.
Unless you have the king to go with that ace, do not
lead the ace. Save it until some big flashy king or
queen pops up that you can capture. Make your aces do
some of that hard work!
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siading— L.aw of Total Tricks at Work

Dealer: West North
E-W Vul A8532
Lead: vQ v95
7652
&«AQI10
West East
A96 aJ10
vQJg2 vAK743
¢AQJ108 ¢+ K9
K2 %9874
South
A AKQ74
v 106
*43
&J653
Bidding:
West  North East South
le Pass lv 1a
2w 24 (1) 3v (2) Pass
Pass 34 (3) AllPass

(1) North had a very bad hand and tried to buy the con-
tract for two spades. Having an extra trump, he was
planning on going to the three level if the opponents
pushed him there.

(2) East was not willing to let his opponents play in a fit
at the two level. He knew that North-South were com-
fortable where they were and he felt his job was to
make his opponents uncomfortable.

(3) North took the push to the three level.

Result: Making three, +140 for North-South.

South was amazed. “How did you know to bid
again with only six points, partner?”

“Well, the Law told me to!” replied North.

The opponents would have made
their 3% bid if North had let them
play it there. Trust in the Law. It’s
actually quite remarkable when you
start using it. No more anxiety,
wondering whether or not you
should bid, pass or double. If you trust the Law, it
will tell you what to do.
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0t4=9

In a competitive auction where everyone is
bidding, the points are usually spread out around
the table. So how will you know
whether to take another bid or not?
You might as well just throw your
high card points out with the trash.
Your decision will be based on the
number of trump you and your partner <&
have. It will not be based on HCP.

The Law of Total Tricks (LOTT) will guide
you in competitive auctions. You might still try
to buy the bid at a low level, but you will take the
push to a higher level if you have extra trump.

For example, with nine trump you should be
willing to bid to the three level, contracting to
take nine tricks. With ten trump between you and
partner, you should be willing to contract to take
ten tricks, bidding to the four level.

Use the Law in competitive
auctions and when you expect the
auction to become competitive.

Even if the opponents haven’t bid yet, you can
use the Law with a weak hand to jack up the auc-
tion (e.g., a weak freak raise). This will keep the
opponents from competing comfortably.

In non-competitive auctions,
you must use the strength
of your hand to determine

if you should bid higher.

Everyone has heard of the super
agent 007 (James Bond). He goes
around killing anyone he wants to
with absolute immunity. He has a li-
cense to kill. With an extra trump, you
have a license to bid.
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SUbscrl be your credit card (MasterCard or Visa). Register at www.paypal.com

Six Issues/Subscription!

SUBSCRIPTION FORM — PLEASE PRINT LEGIBLY or use a return address label!! 6 Issues - $30 12 Issues - $55
U.S. Funds Only

Circle Payment Method: Check Money Order U.S. Funds Only Canada: Add $5 US per six issues

Name Amount Enclosed: $

City State Zip Code

Email: Remit to: Leslie Shafer, 331 Market St. East, #154, Gaithersburg, MD, 20878-6410
If you pay electronically via the internet, you may send registration info that way!

[

1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
I Address Phone I
1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
[ ol



